Home / Tech  / Vista Group’s Co-Founder named 2024’s ‘Flying Kiwi’ at Hi-Tech Awards

Vista Group’s Co-Founder named 2024’s ‘Flying Kiwi’ at Hi-Tech Awards

Co-Founder and Director of the leader in tech solutions for the international film industry Vista Group is named ‘Flying Kiwi’ for the 2024 NZ Hi-Tech Awards.

Murray Holdaway, Co-Founder of Vista Group played a vital role in taking the company from a small business to become one of the largest cinema software companies in the world, with a leading global market share.

Last Friday, he was recognised for his work at the NZ Hi-Tech Awards, a prestigious awards ceremony that celebrates high-tech companies and individuals across the country. The ‘Flying Kiwi’ award recognises an individual’s contributions to New Zealand’s high-tech sector but also their contribution to their business’ success.

Holdaway founded the company, then known as Visa Entertainment, in 1996. He helped it become publicly listed on the NZ and Australian stock exchange in 2014, when it also changed its name to Vista Group.

Read more: Geoscience solution company wins Hi-Tech Company of the Year

The company now has 10 locations globally, with customers in over 110 countries. Over 46 percent of the cinemas worldwide use software developed by Vista Group.

“I feel incredibly honoured to be named as this year’s ‘Flying Kiwi’, particularly considering the high-calibre recipients who have received this award in the past,” says Holdaway.

Vista Group’s Chair, Susan Peterson says that Holdaway is known for his “entrepreneurial, sporting and philanthropic” work.

“Murray stands as one of our country’s most successful tech entrepreneurs. Murray’s passion for software and film, together with his determination and hard work, ensured that Vista Group grew to become a global leader in its field,” adds Peterson.

Other winners from the 2024 Hi-Tech Awards include Company of the Year, Rocket Lab, Emerging Company of the Year, Tracksuit and Startup Company of the Year, Starboard Maritime Intelligence.

The 2024 NZ Hi-Tech Award winners are:

ASX Hi-Tech Emerging Company of the Year
Winner: Tracksuit

Punakaiki Hi-Tech Start-up Company of the Year
Winner: Starboard Maritime Intelligence
Highly Commended: DataMasque

Duncan Cotterill Most Innovative Hi-Tech Software Solution
Winner: Starboard Maritime Intelligence
Highly Commended: Toku Eyes

Braemac Most Innovative Hi-Tech Hardware Product
Winner: NovoLabs

Kiwibank Most Innovative Hi-Tech Solution for a More Sustainable Future
Winner: NovoLabs

Callaghan Innovation/ Poutama Trust Hi-Tech Kamupene Māori o te Tau – Māori Company of the Year
Winner: Envico Technologies

Xero Hi-Tech Young Achiever
Joint Winner: Nu’uali’i Eteroa Lafaele
Joint Winner: Joshua Parsons

NZTE Most Innovative Hi-Tech Agritech Solution
Winner: The Smart Machine Company

Spark Best Hi-Tech Solution for the Public Good
Winner: Kara Technologies

NZX Most Innovative Hi-Tech Creative Technology Solution
Winner: IMMORTAL Camera Systems

PwC Hi-Tech Company of the Year
Winner: Rocket Lab

Aware Group Most Innovative Deep Tech Solution
Winner: NovoLabs

Consult Recruitment Best Contribution to the NZ Tech Sector
Winner: Creative HQ

Datacom Hi-Tech Inspiring Individual
Winner: Elle Archer

Tait Communications Flying Kiwi
Recipient: Murray Holdaway

One of the talented Idealog Team Content Producers made this post happen.

Review overview