Home / Design  / ASB North Wharf steals the show at Architecture Awards

ASB North Wharf steals the show at Architecture Awards

ASB’s North Wharf on Auckland’s waterfront has received New Zealand’s highest architectural honour and 16 other projects, ranging from an airport terminal in Christchurch to an exhibition pavilion in Germany, a tiny bach to a busy student hub, have won awards in this year’s New Zealand Architecture Awards.

The New Zealand Architecture Awards in Auckland last week included award jurors convener Richard Naish (RTA Studio, Auckland), Michael Banney (m3architecture, Brisbane), Stuart Gardyne (Architecture+, Wellington), and Bronwen Kerr (Kerr Ritchie, Queenstown).

The New Zealand Architecture Medal went to BVN Donovan Hill and Jasmax for ASB North Wharf. The duo also won awards for commercial Architecture, Interior Architecture and Sustainability for the same project.

The jurors described ASB North Wharf as a totally integrated project – an architectural realisation of a workplace philosophy, an exemplar of environmentally sustainable design and a contextually aware presence in a new maritime environment.”

{%gallery ‘2014-new-zealand-architecture-medal-winner-asb-nor’ %}

BVN Donovan Hill and Jasmax also won awards for commercial architecture and interior architecture for the Regional Terminal at Christchurch Airport.

Many other winners were celebrated for their work with tertiary buildings. This included Architectus and Athfield Architects who won an award in the Education category for the Victoria University of Wellington Campus Hub and Library Upgrade. Jasmax picked up another couple for AUT University’s Sir Paul Reeves Building, awarded in both the Education and Urban Design and Planning categories. Massey University also took home some awards for the Te Ara Hihiko-College of Creative Arts in both the Sustainability and Education category.

Meanwhile, in the Planning and Urban Design category, Dowse Square received an award, as did Hurstmere Green in Takapuna, designed by Sills van Bohemen.

In the International Architecture category, The New Zealand Guest of Honour Pavilion at the 2013 Frankfurt Book Fair, designed by Patterson Associates and Inside Out Production, picked up an award.

Familiar names took it out in the housing category this year. Fearon Hay Architects, Stevens Lawson Architects and Tennent + Brown Architects took away awards for Dune House at Omaha, Headland House on Waiheke Island and Torea House near Nelson, respectively. Wellington City Council’s Central Park Apartments, an existing social housing complex transformed by Novak + Middleton, also received an award in the housing category.

An architect’s own holiday home won an award in the Small Project category. This was Bossley Architects’ “awkwardly perfect” Arruba Bach near Waiuku.

The New Zealand Architecture Awards also has a category called the Enduring Architecture category, which is reserved for buildings that are at least 25 years old. The late Claude Megson’s Cocker Townhouses (1973), in Freemans Bay took out one award, along with a house at Te Horo beach designed by Gordon Moller for his family around 30 years ago.

Review overview