Home / Venture  / Take a gander at the 2016 Deloitte Top 200 Business Awards winners

Take a gander at the 2016 Deloitte Top 200 Business Awards winners

The Deloitte Top 200 awards, which celebrate excellence in business, were established in 1990 to recognise outstanding individual and team performances in New Zealand’s largest companies and trading organisations. This year’s event, held at Vector Arena in Auckland’s city centre, was a black-tie affair that brought together the movers, shakers, leaders, blaggers, schmoozers and more to celebrate the achievements of the past year. While the champagne flowed like water, enough roast duck was served to repopulate an island, and more exotic cheeses were on hand than at a cheese fair, there was a surprising vein of social consciousness that ran throughout the evening. This was evident in a speech by Minister for Climate Change Issues, Minister for Social Housing, and Minister of State Services Paula Bennet, who stressed the importance of working to combat climate change and for businesses and business leaders to sue their resources to better the lives of others.

Deloitte Top 200 judging panel convenor and NZME head of business Fran O’Sullivan said the organisations and individuals that received awards were visionary leaders. “They are leaders who can consistently adapt to the changing economic landscape and understand the need to provide leadership at the highest level, enabling their team to deliver.”

Deloitte and Orbit World Travel Chief Executive of the Year winner Mike Bennetts from Z Energy impressed the judges with his leadership style. O’Sullivan was particularly impressed. “Mike Bennetts is an authentic leader who has set the vision and delivered on what has been a great success story in the market for Z Energy,” she said. “He leads from the front and has delivered outstanding results, not just in the last 12 months, but also previously. Z Energy’s acquisition of Caltex was significant and the importance of a clear strategy was critical to ensure the company is successful. Through Mike’s leadership, management has successfully delivered that.”

Other winners included ASB’s James Bergin, who snagged the Eagle Technology and IMNZ Young Executive of the Year Award for his visionary leadership as chief architect for the bank (read his piece for Idealog on tech and tangibility here).

Fellow judge Cathy Quin added that choosing a winner from the finalists was difficult. “Every finalist has a great story,” she said. “Each is a person or organisation that is held in high regard for their achievements and contribution, and this alone should be celebrated.”

The judging panel also included independent directors Dame Alison Paterson, Sandy Maier, Jonathan Mason, and Neil Paviour-Smith. Deloitte chief executive Thomas Pippos said the winners set a new standard for leadership at Aotearoa’s largest organisations. “This is the 27th year of the Deloitte Top 200 awards, and the level of talent, vision and leadership is still inspiring business people all over New Zealand,” he said. “These individuals and organisations should be incredibly proud of their achievements.”

2016 Deloitte Top 200 Awards Winners

Deloitte and AJ Park Company of the Year Award

Winner: Z Energy


  • Spark
  • Restaurant Brands

Deloitte and Orbit World Travel Chief Executive of the Year Award

Winner: Mike Bennetts – Z Energy


  • Simon Moutter – Spark
  • Patrick Davies – Ebos Group

Massey University Business School Chief Financial Officer of the Year Award

Winner: Jolie Hodson – Spark


  • Andrew Carroll – Chorus
  • Gordon MacLeod – Ryman Healthcare

QBE Insurance Chairperson of the Year Award

Winner: Christopher Moller


  • Trevor Janes 
  • Rob Campbell

Minter Ellison Rudd Watts Excellence in Governance Award

Winner: ACC


  • Nuplex 
  • Lester Levy

Most Improved Performance Award

Winner: Zespri


  • Trade Me
  • Kathmandu

Best Growth Strategy Award

Winner: Synlait Milk


  • Ryman Healthcare
  • The a2 Milk Company

Ministry of Business and Innovation Employment Diversity Leadership Award

Winner: ASB


  • ANZ
  • IAG

Eagle Technology and IMNZ Young Executive of the Year Award

Winner: James Bergin, chief architect (GM Architecture, Strategy and Innovation), ASB 


  • Andrew Slater, Chief Executive Officer, Homecare Medical / The National Telehealth Service
  • Kimberley Bray, National Service Manager, Ravensdown
  • Sasha Lockley, Head of Operations, Avanti Finance
  • Michael Stribling, General Manager Strategy, Spark

Visionary Leader Award

Winner: Ranjna Patel

Review overview