Home / Tech  / See the winners of the 2017 Hi-Tech Awards

See the winners of the 2017 Hi-Tech Awards

Pushpay was the big winner at the 2017 Hi-Tech Awards, snagging the PwC Hi-Tech Company of the Year and the IBM Innovative Company Award.

More than 900 snazzily-dressed people packed into the ANZ Viaduct Events Centre last Friday, marking the successes of Aotearoa’s high-tech companies across 13 categories.

In selecting Pushpay as the Hi-Tech Company of the Year, the panel of international judges, unsurprisingly, had some pretty high praise. “Pushpay was first to recognise a worldwide unserved market need: credit and collections help for churches and charities,” they said in their evaluation. “They have combined hi-tech with an innovative business model and quickly gained impressive traction both locally and in America; as a result they are now in a strong position to dominate those markets even as they diversify their product line towards more conventional commercial customers. Pushpay is solidly profitable and a truly great example of nimble, fast-moving Kiwi innovation.”

Another big winner was Staples VR’s Aliesha Staples, who won the Xero Hi-Tech Young Achiever Award. Eye care company oDocs was another big winner, edging stuff competition to take home the Quick Circuit Most Innovative Hi-Tech Mobile Award.

Another big winner was RedShield Security, which won two awards: the Duncan Cotterill Innovative Software Product Award and the Kiwibank Innovative Services Award. The judges remarked: “We were impressed with RedShield’s proprietary, patent-pending technology. RedShield uses a clever combination of security shields and consulting services to protect and mask clients’ security vulnerabilities and extend the life of their complex, high-value web applications. This approach allows fast, secure deployment, whilst the underlying security flaws in clients’ core applications can be addressed over time. RedShield’s IP is a complex set of algorithms and processes, which scan and shield web-apps to address both technical and business logic vulnerabilities.”

The Hi-Tech Awards judges, said the calibre of this year’s entrants was better than ever, making the job of the 50 local and international judges anything but simple.

The awards event also featured the unveiling of the 2017 Flying Kiwi, Frances Valintine, founder and Chair of the MindLab by Unitec and recent founder of the Tech Futures Lab. Although Valintine was unable to attend the event in person, she appeared in a video message to thank everyone.

Frances Valintine.

New Zealand Hi-Tech Trust chair Wayne Norrie said Valintine’s achievements speak for themselves. “Frances has achieved so much and is truly an inspiring and passionate individual. She is changing the way people think about technology and the pivotal role that it plays in our lives, not only today, but critically, how important it is to our future as a country. Frances is just an awesome person and a true role model for us all. It’s great that her peers recognise the contribution that Frances is making to New Zealand. She is truly a worthy recipient of the prestigious Flying Kiwi award.”

The 2017 NZ Hi-Tech Award winners are:

2017 Flying Kiwi and inductee into the Tait Communications Hi-Tech Hall of Fame

Frances Valintine

Xero Hi-Tech Young Achiever Award

Winner: Aliesha Staples

Highly commended: Kendall Flutey

Qual IT Best Hi-Tech Solution for the Public Sector Award

Winner: Orion Health & HealthOne

IBM Innovative Company of the year Award

Winner: Pushpay

ATEED Best Hi-Tech Solution for the Creative Sector Award

Winner: Shotover Camera Systems

Callaghan Innovation Hi-Tech Maori Innovation Award

Winner: Biolytix

Duncan Cotterill Most Innovative Hi-Tech Software Product Award

Winner: RedShield Security

Endace Most Innovative Hi-Tech Hardware Product Award

Winner: Adherium

Kiwibank Most Innovative Hi-Tech Services Award

Winner: RedShield Security

Highly commended: Navilluso Medical

NZTE Best Hi-Tech Solution for the Agritech Sector Award

Winner: Compac

Quick Circuit Most Innovative Hi-Tech Mobile Award

Winner: oDocs EyeCare

New Zealand Venture Investment Fund Hi-Tech Start-up Company of the Year

Winner: Latipay

Coretex Hi-Tech Emerging Company of the Year

Winner: Timely

PwC NZ Hi-Tech Company of the Year Award

Winner: Pushpay

Review overview