Home / Tech  / Revealed: The 2018 New Zealand Hi-Tech Awards finalists

Revealed: The 2018 New Zealand Hi-Tech Awards finalists

Entries this year have come in from all over Aotearoa, and this is reflected in the line up of finalists, according to Jen Rutherford, chair of the Hi-Tech Trust, who adds that the standard of entries is the highest ever seen in the history of the Awards.

 “This year’s finalists span the full spectrum of the hi-tech sector and the country. For 2018 we have made a really big push to ensure even greater diversity across the board and it’s great to see so many areas of the country represented, as well as a huge increase in the number of finalists led by women. The number of finalists with female CEO’s has almost doubled year-on-year. Whilst we are not there yet, we are moving in the right direction. Our industry is truly in great shape.”

Several of the local judges have commented that the quality of the entrants is at an all-time high. They predict that the next phase of judging may be even more challenging.

The local judges are joined by a world-class line-up of international judges that include Bill Reichert,  Pascal Finette, Rohit Shukla, Savannah Peterson, Dr Catherine Mohr, Claudia Batten, Dr Rosie Boswoth, Rebekah Campbell, Katherine Corich, Pat Kenealy, Richard Keyse, Nick Lambert and Andy Lark.

 “We are truly thankful to all our judges both here in New Zealand and around the world who give of their own time to assist us with judging,” says Rutherford. “The Hi-Tech Awards continue to be the New Zealand technology industries most important celebration of success and a wonderful showcase for our innovation and talent.”

The winners will be announced at a gala dinner at Horncastle Arena in Christchurch on May 25.

Now in their 24th  year, the New Zealand Hi-Tech Awards celebrate the success of our producers of goods and services from the software, electronics, telecommunications, mobile, agritech, creative and other high-tech industries. The Awards are run by the NZ Hi-Tech Trust, a not-for-profit organisation aimed at promoting and supporting the wider industry.

The 2018 Hi-Tech Awards finalists are:

PwC Hi-Tech Company of the Year

  •              Invenco
  •              Pushpay
  •              Serko
  •              Straker Translations
  •              Vend

Coretex Hi-Tech Emerging Company of the Year

  •              Ask Nicely
  •              Invert Robotics
  •              Link Engine Management
  •              Soul Machines
  •              TracPlus

New Zealand Venture Investment Fund (NZVIF) Hi-Tech Start-Up Company of the Year

  •              Banqer
  •              Code Avengers
  •              SwipedOn
  •              Wherewolf

IBM Most Inspiring Individual  Award

  •              Peter Beck
  •              Katrina Clokie
  •              Lillian Grace
  •              Sue Suckling
  •              Nathan Torkington

Callaghan Innovation Maori Innovation Award

  •              Code Avengers
  •              Kiwa Digital
  •              Nikora Ngaropo Motion & Design
  •              Origins Sofware
  •              Straker Translations
  •              Takiwa

Duncan Cotterill Innovative Hi-Tech Software Award

  •              Dexibit
  •              RedShield Security
  •              Vensa Health
  •              Wellington Drive Technologies

Kiwibank Hi-Tech Innovative Services Award

  •              Beca
  •              Healthcare Applications
  •              Invenco
  •              Serko

Endace Innovative Hi-Tech Hardware Product Award

  •       Calibre Contracting Equipment
  •        Enatel
  •        MARS Bioimaging
  •         Ubco

Quick Circuit Best Contribution to the NZ Tech Sector by an Internationally Headquartered Company

  •              Dimension Data
  •              Enghouse Interactive
  •              IBM
  •              Thinxtra

NZTE Best Hi-Tech Solution for the Agritech Sector

  •              Gallagher Group
  •              Hivetech
  •              Origins Software

Xero Hi-Tech Young Achiever

  •              Aliesha Staples
  •              Breccan McLeod-Lundy
  •              Craig Piggot

ATEED Best Hi-Tech Solution for the Creative Sector

  •              Dexibit
  •              Serato
  •              Shuttlerock

Visa Best Hi-Tech Solution for the Public Good

  •              Banqer
  •              Collaborate
  •              EROAD
  •              Healthcare Applications

One of the talented Idealog Team Content Producers made this post happen.

Review overview