2015 Sustainable Business Awards finalists announced

Pull out your best hemp tuxedo and uncork that organic champagne, the 2015 NZI Sustainable Business Network Awards are coming around again.

The awards, now in their 13th year, are New Zealand’s longest-standing sustainability awards, and look to recognise organisations “leading the transformation to a more sustainable New Zealand”.

Finalists run the spectrum of New Zealand enterprise and include Idealog favourites, DB Breweries, Eat My Lunch and HoneyLab. (Former winners include high flyers Yealands Family Wines, Ecostore and AUT University.)

The awards focus on four key categories: Renewables, Community, Mega Efficiency and Restorative. There are awards for innovation and impact within each of those four categories, as well as additional awards for Communicating Sustainability, a Sustainability Champion and Energy Management.

There is also a supreme award, dubbed the NZI Greatest Contribution to a Sustainable New Zealand award, which is given to a business that has performed well across all aspects of sustainability.

And the finalists are:

Sustainability Champion Award

  • Louise Baker, Opus International Consultants
  • Damon Birchfield, EcoMatters Environment Trust
  • Caleb Clarke, Damian Young, Dean Watts, Morphum Environmental Ltd
  • Shane Hagai, Winstone Aggregates
  • Viv Heslop, Waterfront Auckland
  • Georgina Langdale, Archeus Ltd
  • Steve West, Charge.net.nz/Better NZ Trust/JuicePoint
  • Dorothy Wilson, Community Recycling Network

Communicating Sustainability Award 

  • Colmar Brunton
  • DB Breweries
  • Eat My Lunch
  • Ecoliving Charitable Trust
  • Generation Zero
  • Sustainability Options
  • Trevelyan’s Pack and Cool

Community Innovation Award

  • BNZ and Good Shepherd Trust
  • Ākau
  • Ākina Foundation
  • Eat My Lunch
  • Good Neighbour Trust
  • HoneyLab
  • Honeywrap
  • Manukau Beautification Trust
  • Thunderpants

Community Impact Award

  • Bird on a Wire
  • Deloitte – Disaster Response
  • Hubbards
  • Kaibosh
  • Kai Carrier
  • Manukau Beautification Trust
  • Mental Health Foundation
  • Neighbourly
  • NZ Landcare Trust
  • Quigley and Watts
  • Waterfront Auckland

Mega Efficiency Innovation Award

  • 3R Group – Space Between
  • AUT
  • Creative Spaces/Auckland Council/Fletcher Construction
  • OptiFleet
  • Seatsmart
  • Sorbet
  • Stone Arrow Jewellery
  • Wishbone

Mega Efficiency Impact Award

  • 3R Group
  • Bluebird Foods
  • Construction, Industrial and Demolition Resource Recovery (CIDRR)
  • Energy Solution Providers
  • Fuji Xerox
  • Kaibosh
  • Laminex New Zealand – Taupo site
  • NZ Post
  • Tauranga City Council – The Mount Beachside Holiday Park
  • Resene

Renewables Innovation Award

  • Blueskin Resilient Communities Trust
  • Christchurch Bike Share
  • DB Breweries and Gull
  • Fulton Hogan and Reid Technology
  • Smart Hot Water Company
  • solarcity

Renewables Impact Award

  • Abodo Wood
  • Gull and DB Breweries
  • Central Wood
  • Kiwi Property Group

Restorative Innovation Award 

  • AIMS Ltd
  • Auckland Council - Oruarangi Stream project
  • Holistic Vets
  • SnapIT
  • Sorbet
  • Whai Maia Trust – Ngati Whatua Orakei

Restorative Impact Award 

  • Auckland Council – Pollution Prevention
  • Auckland Council – Waicare
  • JunkRun
  • Raw Essentials
  • Taranaki Regional Council
  • Taupo Beef
  • Zealandia

The Award winners will be revealed at a ceremony on Tuesday 24 November at Shed 10 on Auckland’s waterfront.

Get tickets here and see the full list of judges here

Idealog has been covering the most interesting people, businesses and issues from the fields of innovation, design, technology and urban development for over 12 years. And we're asking for your support so we can keep telling those stories, inspire more entrepreneurs to start their own businesses and keep pushing New Zealand forward. Give over $5 a month and you will not only be supporting New Zealand innovation, but you’ll also receive a print subscription and a copy of the new book by David Downs and Dr. Michelle Dickinson, No. 8 Recharged (while stocks last).