Seeking world class New Zealand leaders

What do multi-Oscar winner Richard Taylor, fashion designer Karen Walker, Trade Me founder Sam Morgan and founder of Les Mills International, Phillip Mills, have in common? For one, they're all past winners of a World Class New Zealand Award – and you can now head over to to suggest a worthy candidate for next year's prize.

The World Class New Zealand programme – a New Zealand Trade and Enterprise initiative delivered by Kea New Zealand –  recognises New Zealand’s most outstanding innovators and entrepreneurs, and is now in its 10th year.

World Class New Zealand director Stephen Dee says the World Class New Zealand Awards are highly revered, and look beyond our shores to showcase New Zealand talent.
“There are a number of New Zealanders both here and around the world who are truly world class – not only are they extremely talented in their field, but they use their influence to build global connections and encourage investment into New Zealand,” he says.
“World Class New Zealanders reflect the highest echelons of individual success across business, creativity, science, innovation, technology and other sectors. It is these types of individuals we are seeking to celebrate.”
The seven categories for the 2013 World Class New Zealand Awards are:
* New Thinking
* Life Sciences
* Creative
* Investment & Business
* Information & Communications
* Manufacturing, Design & Innovation
*  Science, Technology & Academia
The nominees are evaluated against five main criteria, with a focus on promoting New Zealand internationally, building global connections and facilitating the exchange of information, knowledge and skills domestically and internationally.
They will be judged by a panel of six, led by chair of judges John Stace.
In addition, there will be a Friend of New Zealand Award and a Supreme Award, both of which will be revealed at a gala dinner at The Langham Hotel in Auckland in May 2013.
The winners will be presented with the World Class New Zealand Tall Poppy statuette designed by Sir Richard Taylor, 2012 Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year, and 2009 winner of the Supreme World Class New Zealand Award.

Idealog has been covering the most interesting people, businesses and issues from the fields of innovation, design, technology and urban development for over 12 years. And we're asking for your support so we can keep telling those stories, inspire more entrepreneurs to start their own businesses and keep pushing New Zealand forward. Give over $5 a month and you will not only be supporting New Zealand innovation, but you’ll also receive a print subscription and a copy of the new book by David Downs and Dr. Michelle Dickinson, No. 8 Recharged (while stocks last).