Sustainable standouts from the Auckland Architecture Awards

Sustainable standouts from the Auckland Architecture Awards

There were 42 awards handed out at the recent Auckland Architecture Awards, four of which were dedicated exclusively to sustainable architecture. Feast your eyes on the winners. 

MOTAT Aviation Display Hall by Studio of Pacific Architecture Limited   

Judges said: In this project sustainability is thoroughly integrated with design. Material specification, natural ventilation, a thermal chimney, rainwater harvesting, the adaptive re-use of existing structure, and a gas management strategy are all dovetailed seamlessly into the architecture. 

Order of St John National and Northern Regional Headquarters by Deighton Sayegh Architects Limited and Simon Mrkusic in association 

Judges said: A sustainable approach is integral to the architecture of this building, with embedded features and simple, well-considered, low-tech solutions creating a comfortable work environment. 

Owhanake Bay House by SGA Ltd – Strachan Group Architects 

Judges said: From the outset of design the Architect has intimately considered the environment, skilfully weaving a deeply sustainable approach into the building’s DNA. 

Viaduct Events Centre by Moller Architects 

Judges said: The Architect has pursued an integrated and innovative sustainability approach on this landmark project, which includes, surprisingly, a passively ventilated main exhibition hall.  

Fancy feasting your eyes on the rest of the awards winners? Then click here.   

Idealog has been covering the most interesting people, businesses and issues from the fields of innovation, design, technology and urban development for over 12 years. And we're asking for your support so we can keep telling those stories, inspire more entrepreneurs to start their own businesses and keep pushing New Zealand forward. Give over $5 a month and you will not only be supporting New Zealand innovation, but you’ll also receive a print subscription and a copy of the new book by David Downs and Dr. Michelle Dickinson, No. 8 Recharged (while stocks last).