More kudos for revamped Auckland Art Gallery

Is there a soul in New Zealand that doesn't adore the refreshed Auckland Art Gallery? It seems not: adding to its recent conferral of the country's top architecture prize, the gallery grabbed top honours at the annual Property Council awards on Friday night as well.

The Category One heritage building was judged against seven other finalists to take home the Rider Levett Bucknall Supreme Award, as well as winning both the Coffey Projects Education & Property and the Hawkins Construction Heritage and Adaptive Reuses Property categories.

The judges were impressed with “the total scope of the project, the attention to detail, the tireless commitment and cooperation of all stakeholders in the delivery of a unique project incorporating stunning architectural and engineering features and delivering a world class, future proofed facility that will provide tangible benefits to New Zealand for generations”.

Constructed by Hawkins Construction for Regional Facilities Auckland, the development includes the restoration of two heritage buildings, a new building extension that doubles the available exhibition and public areas, new basement storage and services areas, and a redesigned interface with Albert Park. In total, the project extends over 14,350m2.

The Auckland Art Gallery building was constructed from New Zealand kauri for the ceiling of the gallery, German Jura stone for the exterior, American white oak for the floor and specialised glass from Europe, America and Asia.

Its design was developed from a concept related as much to the organic natural forms of the park as the architectural order and character of the legacy buildings. In particular, the building features a series of fine ‘tree-like’ canopies that define and cover the entry forecourt and atrium areas. These light, profiled forms are inspired by the adjacent canopy of pohutukawa and ‘hover’ over the stone walls and terraces that reinterpret the site’s topography.

A record 82 properties made it to this year's finals. However, less than half of the finalists managed to secure an award –16 Excellence and 21 Merit awards were presented to developments across the country. Entries went through a three-month judging process, including detailed review of the developments and site visits by the judging panel.

In determining the winning properties, the judges considered the economic viability of the property, design and construction, efficiency of operation, owner and user satisfaction, contribution to the community, potential cultural and social benefits, degree of difficulty associated with the development and environmentally sustainable features incorporated into the project.


Rider Levett Bucknall Supreme Award
Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki (Regional Facilities Auckland)

Arrow International Multi-Unit Residential Property Award

The Peak (Aurecon)

Auckland Council Special Purpose Property Award

North Shore Hospital - Lakeview Extension (Klein Architects) – Best in Category


Manurewa Police Station (RDT Pacific / GHD & Creative Spaces)

Mt Roskill Community Library & Fickling Convention Centre (Auckland Council and Strachan Group Architects)

Viaduct Events Centre (Beca Project Management and Moller Architects)

Coffey Projects Education and Arts Property Award

Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki (Regional Facilities Auckland) – Best in Category

BLENNZ (Blind and Low Vision Education Network NZ) Homai Campus (Hawkins Construction on Behalf of the Ministry of Education)


Avondale College (Jasmax)

Massey High School Performing Arts Centre and Administration Block (Mainzeal Property and Construction)

University Hall (The University of Auckland)

University of Waikato Student Centre (AECOM New Zealand and Warren & Mahoney Architects)

Papamoa College (Hawkins Construction on Behalf of the Ministry of Education) Ko Awatea (Arrow International [NZ])

Hawkins Construction Heritage and Adaptive Reuses Property Award

Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki (Regional Facilities Auckland) – Best in Category

Te Hononga - Christchurch Civic Building (Ngāi Tahu Property & Christchurch City Council)

Rotorua Museum of Art & History (RDT Pacific)

Xero House [John Chambers Building] (Willis Bond & Co)

Hays Commercial Office Property Award

Westpac on Takutai Square / Ernst & Young Building (Cooper and Company on behalf of Britomart East Company) – Best in Category

Te Hononga - Christchurch Civic Building (Ngāi Tahu Property & Christchurch City Council)


Excelsior House and Stanbeth House (Cooper and Company for Britomart Excelsior Stanbeth Company)

Solid Energy Building (Henshaw Goodman)

Telecom Central (The Wellington Company)

Holmes Consulting Group Tourism and Leisure Property Award

Novotel Auckland Airport (Tainui Auckland Airport Hotel) – Best in Category

SKYCITY Casino (Beca)

Forsyth Barr Stadium at University Plaza (Arrow International [NZ])


The Cloud (Waterfront Auckland)

TECT Arena (RDT Pacific)

Knoll Ridge Cafe, Mt Ruapehu (Stanley Construction, Waikato)

Natural Habitats Landscapes Urban Land Developments Property Award

Wynyard Quarter Stage 1 (Waterfront Auckland) – Best in Category


Kensington Park (Kensington Park Holdings)

RCG Retail Property Award

Te AWA, The Base (Tainui Group Holdings) – Best in Category


SKYCITY Federal House / Grand Hotel (Beca)

Re:START (The Buchan Group and Leighs Construction)

Resene Green Building Property Award

Te Hononga - Christchurch Civic Building (Ngāi Tahu Property & Christchurch City Council) – Best in Category


Stephenson&Turner Wellington Design Studio (Stephenson&Turner New Zealand)

Trends Industrial Property Award

Dulux – Gracefield Site Redevelopment (Aurecon) – Best in Category


Kmart Distribution Centre (Goodman Nominee (NZ))

Idealog has been covering the most interesting people, businesses and issues from the fields of innovation, design, technology and urban development for over 12 years. And we're asking for your support so we can keep telling those stories, inspire more entrepreneurs to start their own businesses and keep pushing New Zealand forward. Give over $5 a month and you will not only be supporting New Zealand innovation, but you’ll also receive a print subscription and a copy of the new book by David Downs and Dr. Michelle Dickinson, No. 8 Recharged (while stocks last).