Wellington Architecture Awards winners announced

This year's entry numbers for the Wellington Architecture Awards may have been down, but the architecture which was "reassuringly high". All up 16 projects were bestowed with an award, among them the 1950s-designed Lower Hutt Civic Precinct and the already award-laden Wellington Airport international passenger terminal. 

Awards jury convenor, architect Warren Young, said buildings in the civic realm made a particularly string showing this year. Athfield Architects’ design for Taranaki Wharf West, for example, was described by the jury as “the last piece in the jigsaw of Wellington waterfront’s public domain”, and Te Wharewaka, by architecture+, was noted for its role in re-establishing the presence of local iwi on the water’s edge.

In the public architecture domain, Wellington's Airport's new international passenger terminal was joined in awards glory by a gymnasium at Mt Cook School by Designgroup Stapleton, and Bell Kelly Beaumont Team Architects' Elliott and Kimi Ora School.

Several commercial buildings, "carefully designed for the capital's urban context", made an impact. Asteron Centre, by Warren and Mahoney, an “elegantly and humanly scaled” 15 storey building; The Customhouse, by Studio of Pacific Architecture, “a building in which sustainability is integrated seamlessly into architecture”; and Pipitea House, by Athfield Architects, “a well balanced composition of complex elements”.

“All of these projects, whether they are urban spaces, distinctive or large buildings, make a significant contribution to our city,” said Young. “They have succeeded because the architects and their clients shared a responsible intention to improve the urban environment.”  

The winners, in full-blown glory, are:

Commercial Architecture

Asteron Centre, Wellington City, by Warren and Mahoney Architects Ltd

Mount Cook School Gymnasium, by Designgroup Stapleton Elliott

Pipitea House, Thorndon, by Athfield Architects Limited

Wellington Airport International Passenger Terminal, by Studio of Pacific Architecture Limited and Warren and Mahoney Architects for joint venture

Enduring Architecture

Lower Hutt Civic Precinct, by Structon Group Architects and King, Cook & Dawson


Government House Conservation, Mt Victoria, by Athfield Architects Limited

Interior Architecture

Government House Conservation, Mt Victoria, by Athfield Architects Limited

Planning and Urban Design

Taranaki Wharf West, by Athfield Architects Limited

Public Architecture

Te Wharewaka, Taranaki Wharf, by architecture +

Kimi Ora School, Naenae, by Bell Kelly Beaumont Team Architects Ltd

Residential Architecture – Houses

Concrete House, Kelburn, by Simon Twose Architect Limited

Bradey Road Pavilion,Pauatahanui, by McKenzie Higham Architecture

Hataitai House, by John Mills Architects

Steeple Lane House, Seatoun, by Novak + Middleton Architects

Small Project Architecture

Wilton House Alterations, Seatoun, by WATT Architects

Maori Women's Welfare League, Thorndon, by Herriot + Melhuish: Architecture Ltd (HMA)

Sustainable Architecture

The Customhouse, Harbour Quays, Wellington, by Studio of Pacific Architecture Limited

Kimi Ora School, Naenae, by Bell Kelly Beaumont Team Architects Ltd

Idealog has been covering the most interesting people, businesses and issues from the fields of innovation, design, technology and urban development for over 12 years. And we're asking for your support so we can keep telling those stories, inspire more entrepreneurs to start their own businesses and keep pushing New Zealand forward. Give over $5 a month and you will not only be supporting New Zealand innovation, but you’ll also receive a print subscription and a copy of the new book by David Downs and Dr. Michelle Dickinson, No. 8 Recharged (while stocks last).