Auckland, meet your ‘urban design champions’

Auckland, meet your ‘urban design champions’

Auckland Council has named its 21 urban design champions, charged with helping to drive Auckland towards the goal of becoming the world’s most liveable city. And with the popularity of new development Wynyard Quarter, the opening of the redeveloped Auckland Art Gallery and the buzz around the Rugby World Cup celebrations kicking off tomorrow, Ludo Campbell-Reid, the city’s urban design champion, said there’s no better time for the champions to take on their advocacy roles.

“We have to build on that success,” said Campbell-Reid, who first trumpeted the idea for local board champions.

Campbell-Reid pointed out that from September 20, the public has the opportunity to give feedback on four critical draft plans for the city. These are the draft 30-year Auckland Plan, the  city centre master plan and waterfront plans, and the region’s economic development strategy.

“The local board champions can show leadership in explaining how all these fit together and the importance good urban design will have on the continuing success of our city,” he said.

Campbell-Reid said having an urban design champion on each of the local boards will assist local decision making, bring added expertise to discussions, and will “bring urban design principles to grassroots’ Auckland”, whilst ensuring design is kept “top of mind”.

The champions will receive training and become part of a network meeting regularly to hear about best practice and to learn from each other.

“Aucklanders are placing increasing importance on good urban design. Our network of champions will ensure people’s aspirations for a better built environment are reflected across the region.”

The local board champions are:

  • Albert-Eden,Helga Arlington
  • Franklin, Magan Ranchhod

  • Great Barrier, Richard Somerville-Ryan 

  • Henderson-Massey, Assid Corban
  • Hibiscus and Bays, David Cooper

  • Howick, David Collings

  • Kaipatiki, Lindsay Waugh

  • Mangere-Otahuhu, Lydia Sosene

  • Manurewa, Colleen Brown

  • Maungakiekie-Tamaki, Simon Randall

  • Orakei, Mark Thomas

  • Otara-Papataoetoe, Tunumafono Fa’amoe

  • Papakura, Graham Purdy

  • Puketepapa, Nigel Turnbull

  • Rodney, Brenda Steele

  • Takapuna-Devonport, Chris Darby

  • Upper Harbour, Margaret Miles

  • Waiheke, Faye Storer

  • Waitakere, Mark Brickell

  • Waitemata, Christopher Dempsey

  • Whau, Duncan MacDonald

Idealog has been covering the most interesting people, businesses and issues from the fields of innovation, design, technology and urban development for over 12 years. And we're asking for your support so we can keep telling those stories, inspire more entrepreneurs to start their own businesses and keep pushing New Zealand forward. Give over $5 a month and you will not only be supporting New Zealand innovation, but you’ll also receive a print subscription and a copy of the new book by David Downs and Dr. Michelle Dickinson, No. 8 Recharged (while stocks last).