2011 Local Architecture Awards dates announced

2011 Local Architecture Awards dates announced

When it comes to events on the local architectural calendar, it doesn’t get much bigger than the NZIA Local Architecture Awards, which trumpet the most unique, stylish and smart architecture that abounds from all over the country. This year’s round of awards dates and venues have been announced, with the first due to kick off in Nelson next month. 

All Local Architecture Award functions will follow a new format for 2011. There will be no registration required to any branch event (therefore no tickets needed) and the format is as follows;


* 5.30pm Doors open

* 5.50pm Awards ceremony commences

The ceremony will conclude 20 minutes after the presentation of the last award.

Nelson Marlborough Architecture Awards

Wednesday 5th October
5.30pm - 7.00pm

Nelson Marlborough Institute of Technology (NMIT)
Nile Street, Nelson.

Auckland Architecture Awards

Wednesday 12th October
5.30pm - 7.30pm

Auckland Art Gallery, North Atrium
Cnr of Kitchener & Wellesley Streets, Auckland City.

Canterbury Architecture Awards

Thursday 20th October
5.30pm - 7.00pm

Canterbury Polytechnic Institute of Technology (CPIT), Rakaia Centre
City Campus
Madras Street, Christchurch.

Waikato Bay of Plenty Architecture Awards

Thursday 27th October
5.30pm - 7.00pm

Classic Flyers Museum
8 Jean Batten Drive
Mount Maunganui.

Wellington Architecture Awards

Thursday 3rd November
5.30pm - 7.00pm

Te Raukura, Te Wharewaka o Poneke
Taranaki Street Wharf, Wellington. 

Western Architecture Awards

Friday 4th November
5.30pm - 7.30pm

Palmerston North Convention Centre
354 Main Street, Palmerston North.

Gisborne Hawke's Bay Architecture Awards

Friday 11th November
5.30pm - 7.00pm

Hawke's Bay Opera House
101 Hastings Street South, Hastings. 

Southern Architecture Awards

Friday 18th November
5.30pm - 7.30pm

Kelvin Hotel
20-22 Kelvin Street, Invercargill.

Further enquiries regarding Local Awards functions can be made by contacting Daryne Begbie, NZIA Awards Secretariat, on 07 981 5857. Email:

In the meantime, here are some of the winners from the 2010 round of regional awards.

Rokonui Ecosanctuary Visitor Centre in Dunedin

Airways Control Tower – Christchurch

Birkenhead Library, Auckland

Hastings District Court

Idealog has been covering the most interesting people, businesses and issues from the fields of innovation, design, technology and urban development for over 12 years. And we're asking for your support so we can keep telling those stories, inspire more entrepreneurs to start their own businesses and keep pushing New Zealand forward. Give over $5 a month and you will not only be supporting New Zealand innovation, but you’ll also receive a print subscription and a copy of the new book by David Downs and Dr. Michelle Dickinson, No. 8 Recharged (while stocks last).